You are here

News & Announcements

Check this page, or the News and Announcements box on the homepage, for the latest official news and announcements released by the court. You can also access archived news and announcements from this page.

Mon, 06/03/2024

Due to a system upgrade, the court’s ECF/PACER system will be inaccessible for query or filing purposes between 4:00 p.m. on Friday, June 14, 2024 and will be...

Thu, 05/23/2024

Please be advised that the court will close early on Friday, May 24, 2024, at 3:00 PM. Papers filed after hours may be filed by depositing them in the night depository located in the courthouse lobby of the United States District Court, 225...

Mon, 05/20/2024

The Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York has changed its video conference platform from ZoomGov to Cisco Webex, effective immediately.

The Court has provided a test meeting you can join, every Tuesday and Thursday from 2:...

Mon, 05/13/2024

Starting May 16, 2024, all of Judge Nancy Hershey Lord’s virtual hearings with be held via the Webex audio video platform.

Mon, 05/06/2024

Due to a system upgrade, the court’s ECF/PACER system will be inaccessible for query or filing purposes between 1:00 p.m. on Friday, May 24, 2024 and will be completed by 7:00 a.m. on Monday , May 27, 2024.

The Voice Case Information...

Mon, 04/29/2024

For parties who have approval from chambers to appear telephonically for a particular hearing, the information will be provided when registering with eCourt appearances.

Mon, 04/29/2024

For parties who have approval from chambers to appear telephonically for a particular hearing, the information will be provided when registering with eCourt appearances.

Mon, 04/22/2024

Starting May 15, 2024, all virtual hearings before Chief Judge Trust will be held via the Webex audio video platform. Chief Judge Trust will not use the Zoom platform after May 14, 2024. Parties will still need to register via eCourt Appearances...

Fri, 03/01/2024

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York will conduct a courtroom skills...

Wed, 02/21/2024

Judge Nancy Hershey Lord will no longer be using the AT&T dial in number (888.363.4734) commencing with her hearings scheduled for March 25, 2024.  All attorneys and unrepresented parties are required to register for the hearing(s) at least...

Fri, 02/16/2024

The Bankruptcy Court Clerk's Office will close at 3:00 pm.

Mon, 02/12/2024

Due to the anticipated inclement weather, Judge Scarcella will be conducting his Tuesday, February 13, 2024 calendar telephonically.  Please contact Diane Corsini, the Courtroom Deputy, at 631-712-6278 or...

Tue, 01/16/2024

The Central Islip Office will be closed as of 3 pm on 01/16/2024 due to inclement weather.

Tue, 01/09/2024

The courthouses at both Brooklyn and Central Islip will close at 3 PM due to the inclement weather forecast.  All matters on this afternoon’s calendars will proceed unless you have been advised otherwise.

Wed, 12/13/2023

       The current term of office of Sean H. Lane, United States Bankruptcy Judge for the
Southern District of New York, is due to expire on September 6, 2024. The United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit is considering...

Wed, 11/29/2023

Amendments to Rules 3011, 8003, 9006, and new Rule 9038 of the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy will take effect on December 1, 2023.

Revisions to Official Form 410A, Proof of Claim Attachment; Official Form 417A, Notice of Appeal and Statement...

Mon, 11/20/2023

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit invites applications from qualified candidates for a 14-year appointment as United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Southern District of New York, with a duty station in Poughkeepsie, New...

Wed, 11/08/2023

The Consumer Lawyers' Advisory Committee and the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York will host a Brown Bag discussion on Chapter 7 Practice in the Eastern District of New York on Friday, December 8, 2023, from 8:30...

Mon, 11/06/2023

Inflationary adjustments have been made to the Bankruptcy Court’s miscellaneous fee schedule. The fee changes go into effect December 1, 2023.

Click...

Fri, 10/27/2023

The United States Bankruptcy Court for the Eastern District of New York will be closed Thursday, November 23 and Friday, November 24; Friday, December 22 and Monday, December 25; Friday, December 29 and Monday, January 1.

The CM/ECF system...

Tue, 10/17/2023

The United States District Court for the Southern District of New York is accepting applications for a full-time Magistrate Judge position at New York, NY. The duties of the position are demanding and wide ranging and will include: (1) conduct of...

Thu, 10/12/2023

The Courtroom Skills Workshop previously scheduled for October 3, 2023, has been rescheduled to Thursday, November 16, 2023, from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

The motions may be argued in person before:...

Thu, 10/12/2023

The Judicial Conference of the United States approved a change to its broadcast policy that expands the public’s access to civil and bankruptcy proceedings. The revised policy will permit judges presiding over bankruptcy cases to provide the...

Fri, 10/06/2023

The United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit invites applications from qualified candidates for a 14-year appointment as United States Bankruptcy Judge for the Southern District of New York, with a duty station in Poughkeepsie, New...

Fri, 09/29/2023

The Courtroom Skills Workshop scheduled for Tuesday, October 3, 2023, has been postponed to a date to be determined. An announcement will be posted to the Court’s website when a new date has been selected.

Robert A. Gavin, Jr.,
...

Fri, 09/29/2023

In the event the United States Congress does not enact a Continuing Resolution by midnight Saturday, September 30, 2023, the Federal Judiciary will not shut down.  The United States Bankruptcy Court, Eastern District of New York, will remain open...

Wed, 09/13/2023

The U.S. Trustee Program is implementing virtual § 341 meetings of creditors in chapter 7, 12, and 13 cases in the Eastern District of New York for meetings being held on or after November 13, 2023.

All...

Fri, 08/25/2023

Litigants and members of the bar are reminded of redaction obligations and the need to minimize the appearance of private identifiers in certain court filings. Specifically, (1) filers’ redaction obligations under Appellate Rule 25(a)(5),...

Mon, 08/21/2023

On August 15, 2023,...

Thu, 07/13/2023

CM/ECF filers should be aware of the potential to...

Pages