You are here

Court Holidays

      Monday, January 2, 2017*       New Years Day
      Monday, January 16, 2017       Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
      Monday, February 20, 2017**       Washington's Birthday
      Monday, May 29, 2016       Memorial Day
      Tuesday, July 4, 2017       Independence Day
      Monday, September 4, 2017       Labor Day
      Monday, October 9, 2017       Columbus Day
      Friday, November 10, 2017***       Veterans Day
      Thursday, November 23, 2017       Thanksgiving Day
      Monday, December 25, 2017       Christmas Day

* January 1, 2017 (the legal public holiday for New Year’s Day), falls on a Sunday. For most Federal employees, Monday, January 2, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See section 3(a) of Executive order 11582, February 11, 1971.)

** This holiday is designated as "Washington’s Birthday" in section 6103(a) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees.

*** November 11, 2017 (the legal public holiday for Veterans Day), falls on a Saturday. For most Federal employees, Friday, November 10, will be treated as a holiday for pay and leave purposes. (See 5 U.S.C. 6103(b).)

Unscheduled Court Closings

To obtain information on court closing or delayed opening of the Brooklyn Office due to inclement weather or other emergency, call (347) 394-1700, and press 9; for the Central Islip Office, call (631) 712-6200, and press 9.